2016 Georgina Campbell Guide Award Winners

Winners of the 2016 Georgina Campbell Awards have just been announced. The prestigious awards which are the longest-running of their kind in Ireland saw Gregans Castle named “Hotel of the Year”. Dylan McGrath was additionally named Chef of the Year and MacCarthy’s Bar in Castletownbere, Co. Cork took the “Pub of the Year” title for 2016.

The highly claimed awards act as a reliable guide for those planning a vacation in Ireland featuring the best places to eat, drink and stay in Ireland.

The coveted “Restaurant of the Year” Award went to Belfast’s James Street South. The restaurant focuses on classic cooking using the best of locally sourced produce with signature dishes including Strangford Lough Bouillabaise and Organic Lamb.

The winners were chosen following anonymous visits by independent inspectors. See below for the full list of winners…

  • Hotel of the Year: Gregans Castle, Co. Clare
  • Restaurant of the Year: James Street South, Belfast
  • Chef of the Year: Dylan McGrath
  • ‘Just Ask’ Bord Bia Restaurant of the Year: Rua, Castlebar
  • Taste of the Waterways Award: Larkin’s, Garry Kennedy, Co. Tipperary
  • Seafood Restaurant of the Year: La Cote, Wexford
  • Outstanding Guest Experience: The Mustard Seed, Co. Limerick
  • Host of the Year: Declan Maxwell, Luna, Dublin
  • Business Hotel of the Year: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
  • Pub of the Year: MacCarthy’s Bar, Castletownbere, Co. Cork
  • Wine Award of the Year: Stanley’s, Dublin
  • Newcomer of the Year: Maisons, Rostrevor, Co. Down
  • Family Friendly Restaurant: Stone Cutters Kitchen, Doolin, Co. Clare
  • Pet-friendly Hotel of the Year: Lough Inagh Lodge, Co. Galway
  • Hideaway of the Year: Bervie, Achill Island, Co. Mayo
  • Casual Dining of the Year:Isaacs Restaurant, Cork
  • Atmopsheric Restaurant of the Year:Bodega, Waterford
  • Ethnic Restaurant of the Year:RAW, Galway
  • Cafe of the Year: Teach Nan Phaidaí, Aran Islands
  • Natural Food Award: Arbutus Bread
  • Country House of the Year: Temple House, Sligo
  • Guesthouse of the Year: Greenmount House, Dingle, Co. Kerry
  • Farmhouse of the Year: Trean House, Co. Donegal
  • B&B of the Year: Strandeen, Portstewart, Co. Derry
  • Hotel Breakfast of the Year: Gregans Castle, Co. Clare
  • Country House Breakfast of the Year: Temple House, Sligo
  • Guesthouse Breakfast of the Year: Greenmount House, Dingle
  • B&B Breakfast of the Year: Strandeen, Co. Derry

Belfast’s James Street South restaurant takes the reins from Kai Restaurant in Galway which won the coveted title of “Restaurant of the Year” in 2015.  Transformed from a former tearoom to a rustic restaurant, Jessica Murphy Head Chef at Kai is additionally is a resident chef at Meadows and Byrne. View her weekly video’s, monthly recipes on www.meadowsandbyrne.com

This entry was posted in Best Attractions in Ireland, Best Places to visit in Ireland, dublin, ireland special offers, Ireland Travel, Ireland vacations, Irish Food, Irish Hotels, Restaurants dublin, Restaurants ireland, Visitor Attractions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 Georgina Campbell Guide Award Winners

  1. Rachel says:

    Congrats to all and great to see a wide mix of venues from different counties listed! Surprising that there aren’t more Dublin restaurants listed however, especially given the amount of Michelin star restaurants in the county/city.

  2. Pingback: Best Restaurant Cork Reviews | Fatlosshaven.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *